A senior worried about college

Hey Everyone!

I'm a high school senior and I was just diagnosed with type 1 this summer (2009) and while going through the college apps, I started to wonderful how would my diabetes affect the typical college life. And also my current insurance covered me until I'm 18, and heard that as long as i'm in college I should be covered, is that true? Any input would be high appreciated!

Ilaria 

hey llaria!

I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes one month before graduating high school. I then went off to college that fall. So I had about 4 months to get adjusted. I am now a sophomore in college, and I absolutely love it! I never let diabetes stand in my way. I make sure to control it and keep it a priority, but I always work around what I need to in order to feel "normal." That being said, I don't go wild.

Also, check with your insurance company, but most cover (under parents insurance which I am assuming you're currently on) until 25 or out of college, whichever comes first.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact me!

Yes, insurance will cover you through college (mine is up in December).

Don't let diabetes hold you back from anything in college. Honestly, if you stay on top of your blood sugars, you can do everything the 'normal' kids can do. Stay in contact with your doctor and make friends. :o) ENJOY IT! <--- That's the best advice you're going to get.

Some states require insurance to last even longer. As long as you are in school, most insurances will cover you under a parents plan. Also, at least in NJ a new law came out that can continue insurance coverage up until the age of 29 or 30. Even if you are done with school I believe. While it is a bit of a hassle and scare to think about insurance on top of everything else. The easiest thing to do is to either call the provider or if your insurance is from a parent have them check to make sure what the options for you are.