Advice for an Adventurous Lifestyle

Hi,

I'm kind of new to this but I've been looking for some decent advice. I am hoping to have a life full of adventure and I always worry that I allow my diabetes to limit me or, even, occasionally, use it as a crutch. I recently spent nearly four months in Morocco studying Barbary macaques (a type of monkey). My goals for my career and my life are to become a primatologist and, hopefully, spend a decent amount of time studying primates in the wild. Of course, most primates live in hot, tropical areas. Really, Morocco was a good introduction to me - we lived in a small town in an apartment with all the basic necessities (shower, hot running water, kitchen, refrigeration, internet, etc), there was a great variety of food and while, physically, the work was strenuous as we were hiking following the monkeys for about ten hours each day, I never really felt like I had to be terribly concerned for the condition of my diabetes. I use an insulin pump, which allowed for me to control my blood sugar quite well, my diet was not limited, and we worked in a temperate climate in the Middle Atlas Mountains so that it was cool and comfortable most days (although it often got very cold). My concerns, now, is for what I hope to achieve next. I recently applied and had an interview for a 6 month research assistant position in the Salonga National Park of the Democratic Republic of Congo to work with bonobos (a close relative to chimpanzees). This is a tropical forest, which means it is hot and humid. There is refrigeration for supplies but this is a very minimalist life-style. We sleep in tents at this campsite, I'm pretty sure hot showers are out of the question, I haven't asked about toilets (but I've dealt with using "nature's toilet" before), the diet consists almost entirely of fish and rice, internet is limited, and to get to the campsite I would have to fly into the big town of Kinshasa, take another smaller plane to a village closer to ou