Advice needed on CGM sensor adhesion

Hi Everybody, I’ll be starting on the Dexcom G7 and reports are that the adhesive is poor (sensors peel off before 10 days). Can those using the Dexcom (G6 or G7) opine on effectiveness of a product to use UNDER the sensor to help it stick ? I’ve heard of Skin-Prep wipes and Skin-Tac wipes - do either (or both) work to keep the sensors on ? I prefer to NOT use the Overpatch if possible.
Thanks all, Joanne

I use G6. On the app you can request free over patches. That is enough for me with normal wear, bathing etc. I’m fairly new to Dexcom so haven’t tested swimming, etc.
good luck!

These over patches are clear and not noticeable.
I’ve used SkinTac a few times and that works also. It can make the adhesive less flexible if you use too much

Hopefully you’ll get some recommendations that work if you need them. On a side note, don’t forget Dexcom.should replace a sensor if it comes off early - obviously it’s a bit of an annoyance but it’s good to have that option.

1 Like

For the record, I’ve been using the G6 for a couple of years now. I’ve never had a problem with it falling off early, and I don’t use any special skin prep or overpatches.

The people who have trouble with it falling off are far more likely to be vocal about it, but I’m not sure they’re in the majority at all. It’s definitely something to be aware of and try to be prepared for, but it’s quite possible you’ll have no trouble with the sensor adhesive as designed, without needing further support.

G7 is quite a bit smaller than g6. so there will be less tape to hold it in place, but I am going to just wait and see how many fall off. I have less than 5% of g6 fail due to tape… and when it starts to peel if I have 3-4 days left i do use overtape. the free ones dexcom gives you. so actual fails due to adhesive are less than 1 sensor per year for me. I am also very sensitive to dexcom adhesive so I try to use the least amount of skin contact possible. good luck @Jophilly