Bright future, destructive habits

Hi,

My name is Patricia and I am a type 1 diabetic. This is my first time reaching out, and using something like this. I have a bright future ahead of me but my diabetic habits are on such a destructive path. I have struggled with diabetes for a greater part of my life. It has caused problems with my relationship with my parents, as well as some friends. I still think I am in denial about having diabetes. I don’t take care of myself, I eat without bolusing, I don’t test EVER. I feel like I am digging myself into a hole that I can’t get out of.

Does anyone have any advice for me on how to accept my diabetes? I know that it ultimately comes down to me and what I do for myself, but I need support, in any form. I don’t wat to die young because of complications from something I could have prevented.

Thank you!

Hi Patricia,

Welcome! I’m glad you found this site. I only found it recently, and wish I had been a member here sooner. It’s easy to let your care for T1D go, and it’s really hard to get back into that tight control we know we’re supposed to have. But, we’ve all been in your shoes and had similar moments. It’s great that you know you need to start taking care of it a bit better - to me, that does not indicate denial.

Because of how complex it is to deal with T1D, I would suggest only changing one or two things at first, and just get yourself into a habit with those one or two things. Maybe one thing you can do is set an alarm on your phone to test your blood sugars at certain times each day (maybe start out with testing 3x each day?).

Once that becomes a little bit more normal, you could try increasing the number of times you test. Or, you could try adding a second part of the routine, which would be deciding whether insulin is needed and then giving the proper dosage. (I am guessing that you probably tend to run higher, rather than lower.)