Caretaker Burnout

Hi I am new to the typeone forum and my name is Lauren. My brother has T1D and it has now been around 13 years since he was diagnosed. There is a lot to take care of when managing and living with T1D. My brother is on the autism spectrum so he sometimes needs help with treating his diagnosis. My mom helps him out with all of his medical things plus his doctors appointments etc. I have noticed over the last few years that she sometimes gets burnt out easily and maybe just needs a break but it is difficult for her to take one multiple times. What are some ways to help with this where it is not to difficult on my brother who needs help from time to time?

Hi @Lau13 and welcome to Type One Nation. I think this is a really tough one. It is of utmost importance that the caretaker takes care of themselves, even as a priority. That’s an impossible statement for a parent. Can you look into any form of assisted care outpatient so that she can take necessary breaks from time to time?

2 Likes

Thank you Joe for taking the time to reply back. She does take breaks from time to time her and I try to take a vacation at least once a year and she takes little day breaks. I think sometimes it is the kind of burnout that has built from a long period of time simply because she does multiple things all the time and it can be overwhelming at times. I try to help out as much as I can and offer help and for the most part my brother handles a lot. I think what she might get burnout from is accumulated from multiple years and I know my brother probably feels burnout as well.