Children and the Insulin Pump

I am a design student and am interested in children using the insulin pump. I am redesigning the digital interface on the Medtronic Minimed because the education level of the data is way over a child's head. I am planning on making it more kid-friendly and approachable for today's youth. Since type 1 diabetes, as I'm finding out, is increasing in children, I'm interested in what aspects of the pump is intimidating and hard to understand.. is it the icons on the buttons, the cluttered screen, the qualities that still make it seem like a medical device rather than something that children can accept as a part of them... If you're a parent of a child that uses a pump and can help me out, that would be much appreciated. My brother was diagnosed at the age of 7 with type 1 diabetes and is now 26. He still gives himself manual insulin injections and doesn't ever plan on using the pump. So, I'm trying to get another perspective from kids who are using it... and I want to improve it. If there's not yet a cure, why not improve what we have and help kids embrace their lifestyle.

I am really not sure how to reply to this. It IS a medical device. You don't want it to seem like a toy or just a personal electronic device (phone, mp3 player, etc.) because it can cause other problems - like being accused of having a phone in class when that is against the rules. (Which currently happens, so it already looks enough like these other devices to cause problems). Parents of young kids already worry that the child with D or a sibling will try to play with the pump. THis is generally not a problem - but it should maintain a feature to lock the pump to prevent accidentally giving extra insulin or turning off the pump.