Determined to coordinate a walk

I really am excited to learn that I can possibly coordinate a walk in Yuma Arizona. There have been little ones but I am determined to get almost my entire community involved with this. I am seventeen but although I am young I have a lot of experience fundraising as well as working in community service. I will be excited when I find out how I can make this happen in my community. I'm already in discussion with the phoenix charter as well as Amy Kord, and I am so thrilled with the advice they have given me so far. If you have any suggestions please tell me?! Thank you

-Beryl Lay

Beryl, it's exciting to hear that a 17 year old is willing (and able) to launch a JDRF walk herself.

Even though you may think it's going to start as a small walk, think BIG. For example, the Yuma TV, radio and newspaper folks would probably jump at the chance to interview you and get the word out to thousands of people to join you. Make sure you 1.) reach out to them and 2.) make sure you give clear directions to interested viewers on how to learn more and to sign up to walk. This means you'll need to make sure you have the info available on the web somewhere. I bet Amy will be able to help you set up that stuff.

Good luck (and don't forget to smile for the camera)!

~ Red Maxwell