Dexcom G6 and Tandem pump

I’m going to be starting a Tandem pump next week after MDI. I use the Dexcom G6 and wondered what happens when the G6 is wildly off readings and how the pump handles that? If your meter is vastly different is there a way to manually make a pump adjustment?

@DFBB , you should not be having those problems. I have been using Dexcom products for more than 20 years. Since the release of the G6, my cache of test strips have expired several times over. I work with multiple specialty doctors and all five have agreed that finger sticks are no longer needed. The greatest difference between a lab glucose and my CGM has been 14mg/dl.

The one thing my team and i have learned is you should position yourself and your glucose to a level position prior to and for the 2 hours after sensor or sensor transmitter swap outs.

CGM changeout

There is a mountain of communication protocols with checks & balances buried in CGM communication.

I have been using DexCom models for 20+ years.

Everything starts on the pump because it is the ‘medical device’ and the primary display device even if a phone is used personally as the primary device. This is further emphasized because a pump and dedicated Dexcom receiver cannot be used simultaneously as the Dexcom receiver is classed as a medical device.

Pick your best time. Your best time should be when the CGM report shows level data and you are not planning a meal or generally needing to bolus during the following two hour window. This means select a time when you have a 3 hour window of usually level CGM reporting.

For me, 7:00PM is the best time to have level CGM reports and the time is free of BG changing activities for me.

If I am doing a sensor only, I change sensors at 7PM. At 6:55, I get everything read, do a skin prep and insert the new sensor by 6:58.

At 6:59, I go to my phone and stop the sensor, then to the pump and begin the stop and start at 7:00.