Diabetes and asthma

i'm wondering if anyone has experience with inhaled steroids and T1. I have had some scary asthma experiences recently, and have been using my albuterol all the time. I tried singulair, but it doesn't seem to do much for me. My doc wants me to try flovent or advair, both of which include inhaled steroids, but i want to know what i'm signing on for BG-wise, and my doc knows next to nothing about T1. 

If you have asthma, what do you take? 

Ajax,

I have had asthma about 40 years - and of course allergies that trigger asthma.  Long and short for me - sometimes I have NO problems and I don't do anything, but certain years my allergies are bad and bingo -- frequent asthma attacks.  My regimen (now - when young I took allergy shots, etc)):

1. Symbicort (preventative) or Singulair daily  - I have tried many - just keep changing until I find something that works
  2. Albuterol or Combivent - as needed for "emergency".  If I find that I use albuterol more than 1 time in 3 days then we go back to the step one.
  3. Zyrtec for allergy.
  4. Prednisone - I have 50 tablets in case of emergency. 

You are worried about your BG?  It has not had any major consequence for not - maybe some water retention -  currently have been bothered, so i am taking Singulair, Zyrtec everyday and Combivent once a week.  I have had to resort  to prednisone 3 times in the last 10 years - The albuterol was not working and I was traveling - but It was all fine.