Discrimination at the Soccer Fields

Hello!  I am new to this site and would love to share our families story with you...and hopefully gather some opinions and knowledge to help us with the struggles of Type 1 Diabetes.

We were your typical family before April 2008.  My husband and I are both educated, involved parents to 2 amazing daughters.  I was a teacher and my husband is a RN.  Our kids had never really been sick except for the usual strep throat, allergies, and ear infections.  We lived the fast paced lifestyle of school, work, and endless soccer schedules.  On April 21, 2008, my husband and I realized our daughter's recent spacey-ness and weight loss were signaling something was very wrong.  I remember my husband saying Type 1 Diabetes but shrugged it off until the Dr in the ER confirmed the diagnoses...and my world was rocked!  As a family, we decided I would take a year off from teaching to help everyone settle into our new "normal."  We were not going to just survive but we were going to THRIVE...to be honest, that next year was all about survival.  We experienced the highs and lows...the struggles in public school and 504 plans...the stares and questions of friends and strangers....but through it all we grew and became stronger.  We ended up selling our home so we could move to a school system known for handling Type 1 and other disablities extremely well.   Our daughter truly is amazing and independent (thank you God for her determination!)  and her strength inspires us!  The following year, my husband and I opened a custom design and screen printing business named Type 1 Teez and we are dedicated to donating to JDRF through our work with other Type 1 families we print team shirts for every year.  We are thriving now..even though some days still feel like surviving but I guess that is how this disease is.  Some days are great while others are a struggle...which leads me to what I need help with.