"Failure to Launch"

This post has nothing to do with the movie, except that I was watching Failure to Launch yesterday and thinking about how the title encompassed my day Thursday.

I woke up with a bg of 400, waaaay higher than I ever am. I actually had gotten breakfast at the campus dining hall (I'm a freshman at college, finished my 3rd week now), then tested and got the 400. Yikes. Did a correction bolus and dumped the food in the trash can.

After my 8 am class I went straight back to my dorm room and changed the site. When I pulled out the old one, the cannula was bent about halfway its length at a 90-degree angle! This is the first time it ever happened to me.

The rest of the day was rough; in the 300s all day and 2 sites later finally came down into range by bedtime.

My question is, (and I asked the guy I spoke on the phone with from Medtronic too), why doesn't the pump alarm when the cannula is so far bent?

With all the technological advances it seems to me that this should be a given-- the pump should be able to detect a failed site. However I did not receive any alarm whatsoever to warn me of a bg in the 400s!

Since I'm 400 miles away from my home, my mom (who has always helped me before), and my CDE, it was a rough day. Thank goodness for long distance phone calls.

Kudos to all of you who can keep calm during a day like this one. I hope I'll eventually reach that point too.

sorry about the bad site.  it happens more when you are away or anytime it can be really inconvenient.

all pumps have a miniature pressure sensor, it's used for detecting a clogged infusion set/site.  It's sensitive enough, but can't be too sensitive so it becomes a nuisance (alarms for no reason).  during basal delivery, the sensor is far too insensitive to alarm before you hit bs-60000, and that's the main reason the pump manufacturers tell you to test often.