Guilt + T1D

Hi!
(This is my first time reaching out on a forum - so I’m not quite sure how it’ll go!)
I’m sixteen now, but was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes as of 2020 - as a fourteen year old. Since, I’ve undergone a few different systems and managements, and have now ended up with a CGM and insulin pump.

A little while prior to being diagnosed, I struggled with mental health + body image.
Since then, I have consistently found it difficult to manage this with having diabetes, and this has resulted in a prolonged cycle of disordered eating, including eventual binges (causing high BGLs from under/innacurate-bolusing), and lotsa guilt!

I haven’t explicitly told my parents, (or any friends) about struggling with food, and although I’ve had periods where I feel alright with eating more freely, (i.e., higher-carb), afterwards I have feelings of extreme guilt and regret from taking increased units of insulin, all of which feels amplified with caloric intake being tracked with food diaries for carbs.

I was wondering if anyone else has had similar issues with ‘insulin-guilt’, worry around diabetic stigma, and/or disordered eating with diabetes. If anyone was willing to share any general advice around the topic, it’d be much appreciated as it’s difficult to talk on these things as a young person with a lack of people in my life who have T1D, or subsequently, who have had issues around food/insulin/guilt. :^(

Hi @G33 and welcome to the forum. I just reached 60 years with diabetes so please forgive me if I sound like a parent or (gulp) grandparent. I don’t mean to, and hopefully you will hear from forum members your own age.