Hypoglycaemia unawarenessđŸ„Č

Hellow everbody! I hope everyone is doing great! T1D for almost 7 years now, i have doing great for all these years but recently! I found myself having hypoglycaemia without getting any symptoms! Luckly i was with my friend who is also a doctor and he was not even aware i have diabetes, he gave me glucose fews minutes later i was prety fine, it is fourth episode now and it has affected my quality of life because i have had diabetes 7 years around i never tell anybody apart from my some family members, i graduated college without being open to anybody am getting difficult in disclosure and it has been a difficult time for me now😔, the bad the is that i dont have CGM or any other technologies which will help me track my BG, is there anyone who who has been through this??

You have what just about every diabetic has who lives without a pump and CGM. GET BOTH if you can, by the way! You will have revealed to you that you likely are low after every meal. Scary low. Even if you just get a CGM for a few months and have to pay for it, it will change your situation. Use an endocrinologist instead of a Primary Care Physician. The more you are low, the more your body says “hey this is normal. I don’t need to warn him.” As you reduce those habitual lows, your body will start warning you again. MOST IMPORTANT, you are a normal diabetic. I get the feelin you feel quilty and ashamed. Share it, live it, be it because it is who you are!! Feel free to reach out to me privately if you need to talk!!

2 Likes

Thanks @808IUFan perhaps am not sure if these technologies are available in most developing countries and its not easy to find endocronologist! Most DM clinics are managed by medical doctors we are our own doctors! I was just thinking of risking going too high for a while my last A1c was 5.9