I just don\'t want to care

Hey guys, I’m Samantha. This October it’ll be three years that I’ve been diagnosed. I’m 18 now and I was a sophomore in high school when I found out I was diabetic. Which is a pretty ugly time to start dealing with something like that. I feel like I’ve gone through so much since that day… Like there’s so much I’ve experienced and so much I can talk about. Except, there’s nobody I can talk to about the illness on a personal level because nobody really can understand my life with diabetes. Everyone underestimates the illness and I hate it. I hate everything about it honestly. I’d love to be able to conversate with someone my age or close to my age about this. To see if I’m not the only one who goes through the depression, lack of motivation, anxiety, insecurities, eating disorders and everything else. If anyone can relate, I’d love to hear from you and share stories.

Hi @Saammko,

Sorry you are feeling down. We have definitely all been there before. While I never experienced going through High School with diabetes, I got diagnosed right after I turned 25. It was at my first job out of college and it was a completely horrible experience for me. At the time I didn’t have anyone to talk to about what I was feeling because there wasn’t much support online at that time. so be thankful for commuties like this where anyone is a finger type away! I bet you can talk to anyone on this site and they have gone through a similar experience to yours. Depression, Yep I suffer through it all of the time. Lack of motivation, yes. Anxiety on a daily basis, Eating Disorder, yep I am a survivor of that too.

You have to take one day at time and do the best you can and not beat yourself up. IT IS NORMAL to feel like any of those things at anytime. You are human.