Memory and Concentration

I was diagnosed with diabetes when i was 2 years old. Now i am 27 and a doctor...just got my degree but havent specialized in any field as yet. I want to specialize in ophthalmology. I developed Proliferative diabetic retionopathy 2 years back. My problem is that i am unable to concentrate on anything i read now,let alone memorizing it. I have alot of studying to do for my specialization but when i started studying for it, i couldnt even recall the basics. I read that one of the side effects of insulin is loss of memory. I have discussed my problem with my doctors here and have written to some international consultants as well but no help so far :( I am sick of explaining to people why am i not studying further?it is just so frustrating.once i was an ace student of my class...now i feel i dont know anything.i just keep forgetting things :(

First off I am so encouraged to hear what you have accomplished already at 27. If you're most doctors I know you're a type-a perfectionist and probably your own harshest critic.

As my wife and I have gotten older, we've noticed different things have affected memory - including pregnancy (which is a widespread, observed phenomena). By not being able to read as much or as often, I suspect that those portions of your brain may becoming "out of shape."

Nonetheless I'd wager that even with the loss you've experienced, you're still smarter than the average bear.

Don't be so hard on yourself !! --- and work with what you've got. It's evident you've been able to get pretty far even with the hindrance that diabetes has imposed on you. I'd still easily point you out as role model for my teenage T1 daughter.