New T1 3/7/16

My name is amberjean, I was diagnosed on 3/7/16 with T1 diabetes. I spent the first week in the hospital, treatment was mostly for a kidney infection. They taught me very little about diabetes except how to inject insulin and test my blood glucose. I now have a good doctor who sent me to a one day class on T1D and I’ve been reading/researching everything possible.

I am a high school student and have not been to school since diagnoses because of spring break. Tomorrow is my first day in school with diabetes.

About me: I was born in Hawaii and lived there until Aug 2015. I now live in California. We will be moving back to Hawaii when school is out in June. I’m looking forward to meeting others my age with diabetes.

Hey amberjean, I know how hard is for Td1. I went in for a rash that would not go away and for keytones. I will tell you one thing I may or mat not get easy again. For me it is hard, you will have sometimes when you want to be like everyone else. Don’t do everything like everyone else, it will get You in big trouble. I learned the hard way, I don’t want anyone else to do the way I did. I t is hard not to take shots and your sugar. When you get up to 5 to 6 years or more it is part of your daily things to do. If I were you I would go to WWW.jdrf.com. It is an Great place to learn about Td1. One thing people say all the time is Td1 and Td2 are the same thing. If someone says that Td1 and Td2 are the same you tell them so just say no there not, For one fact I have to take shots and the other one has to watch out for what they eat. Oh btw Diet soda is not that bad, nor is anything sugar free. There maybe some food that you cant have because they raise up your sugar. For me it is Ice cream and Pizza, I have learnt to do things different. If your school has something to high od carbs have a slade or something. If you have any questions or just want to talk text me on this and I will happily get back to you.

Hi amberjean,