Our daughter is spiking over 400 while in school!

Hello everyone. We are very new to this group and have a 10 yr old daughter with T1. She’s on a pump (4 mos) and Dexcom CGM as of this weekend. She is very good about counting carbs and stays in a good range. However, we’ve noticed she often has highs over 400 while in school before lunch? We suspect she might be snacking but aren’t sure. For example, this past weekend she had excellent numbers. Mon she had 70 carbs for breakfast with her bolus and off to school. By 8:00 she started climbing and by 9:00 she was over 400. We can’t figure out why this is happening. Anyone experience this with their kids?

I do not have a T1 child or grandchild and I’m not a medical doctor, but I’ve had many years of T1 experience as well as experience with kids.

My observation is that, based on weekends when she is comfortable and no one is making fun of her diabetes or her pump she has good control. On school days, might she be embarrassed if some people see her pump? Does she have a friend who feels sorry for her, doesn’t understand the complexity of diabetes who is providing her with treats - your suspicion? Either case may indicate that a little education is in order for school mates and school personnel. The “Resources” section on here has some great information; and in a couple of weeks an enhanced and expanded “Resource” will ne added.

Going back to my first observation; that she may be embarrassed by her pump and doesn’t want to appear different. She may be disconnecting her pump and secreting it in her backpack when she gets on the bus, then reconnecting it on her way home. You could ask a teacher to observe, not make a scene and correct her, and report back to you if a pump is not obvious. If it is determined that she is not wearing her pump, you need to learn “the why” and move on from there.

Please let me / us know what solution to her 400+ you follow.

Hi @Davecz,