Pens or the Pump in College

Hi! My name is Jillian and I am going to be a senior in highschool this fall. As I start my college search I have been reading a lot about staying in control with my diabetes while away at college. Right now I am dosing using lantus and novolog pens. I take lantus once a day before bed and I use the novolog pens to cover my other meals.

I read somewhere that it is better to have a pump in college, that it makes life easier. If I am going to switch over to using a pump I would like to do it my senior year in high school where I will have the support of my joslin team to figure out how to live with the pump. I wouldn't want any mishaps at college.

What are your opinions? Do you think a pump will make diabetes management in college easier or does it not really make a difference?

Thanks in advance for your responses

Hi Jillian!  When I wore a pump, it made life sooo much easier and I wasn't in college!  I am a teacher and it was just so wonderful to have!  I think college would be much easier if you tried the pump.  You have a good idea in trying one out before you leave!  Unfortunately the pump didn't work out for me and I am back on multiple injections a day.  I take lantus like you at bed and I use apidra for my meals!  The choice is yours.....give it a try!  Good luck with your decision!

I definitely agree with your plan to try a pump way in advance of starting college if you decide to make the switch! That way, you'll feel totally comfortable before you head off to college. (Or, if it doesn't work out, you have time to switch back.)

I'm personally on injections, but I can imagine that the pump would be great in college when you schedule differs by the day. I survived fine on the pen in college -- I think my a1c's were around 7.0. But, it was definitely a time in my life when I wasn't able to pay as much attention to the D b/c of everything else I had going on.