Person First Language

I am currently studying to become a special education teacher. One topic that always comes up in all my education classes is the need for person first language when it comes to people with disabilities. The concept is to put the person first, the disability second. A person shouldn't be defined by their disability, instead, they should be defined as a person.

For example: Instead of saying "the Autistic child", it's better to say, "the child with Autism". Or, "the student with a learning disability", instead of "The learning disabled (or handicapped) student". While to some it may seem trivial, I think that it really does make a difference in our perception of a person. Just think about the "R" word that is becoming obsolete - our language that we use is important!

It wasn't until I was reading a passage in a book called "Reflections from a Different Journey: What Adults with Disabilities Wish Their Parents Knew", when one of the authors spoke about their Type 1 Diabetes as being a disability that I really made the connection between having Type 1 and this person first language. While I do not see myself as having a disability, I do understand why others may. 

This has all led me to think a lot about how I use the term "Diabetic". I really do think I like being "a person with type 1 diabetes" opposed to "a type 1 diabetic". I have started to try to stop saying it, and instead say I am a person with Type 1 diabetes.

I'm curious about what other people think of this person first language when it comes to our Type 1!? Should we be included in this person first language?

(And in case anyone is wondering, I highly recommend the book I mention! It was a great, quick read that is really insightful into a wide range of different abilities)