Personal Struggles

Hey Everyone my name is Zack. I’m 26 yrs old and been diagnosed since I was about 10 yrs old. I’m new to the message board but I’ve been struggling with what’s been going on with my life and keeping a tabs on my diabetes. It’s been actually hard the last few years (like 4yrs) from my mother passing away to basically being alone. Practically my day is either work, eat and sleep. I HAVE NO LIFE WHAT SO EVER. I can’t really think the last time I actually have friends who can understand what I go through each day. My struggles with diabetes is where I “cheat” and eat sweets because I want to feel normal, dont follow my medicine regimen or check my blood sugar. All that made me end up in hospital and now its affecting my family (Aunt,Uncle ,Brothers , Cousins, and Nana). I’m looking for people I can get connected with and make myself a better person and maybe get engaged into conversations about dealing with diabetes.

1 Like

hi @ZackDGraham93 Zackery, welcome to Type One Nation and the forum… well a lot of us here understand the diabetes part of what you are going through, and most understand the rebellion part and the burnout part pretty well.

if you are looking for a bunch of sympathetic friends, who have diabetes or fully understand it, to hang out with, my experience would be that it just doesn’t happen that often. Maybe the closest thing would be a JDRF event or something like that…

I don’t consider eating candy cheating… it’s a mind trick to call something bad… or to consider yourself cheating or bad because you didn’t do X or Y. In my opinion, and what’s worked best for me is to own it. I eat candy when I want to, eat pizza, bagels, general Tso chicken at the Chinese take-out, drink beer, now don’t get me wrong what I am saying is that I don’t consider it cheating because it’s not cheating. And I FULLY own the 400 mg/dl if I make a massive mistake or forget to bolus… because it’s something that I did as a result of a decision I made.