Pros & never spoken of cons of pump therapy

I am a 23 year old 14 year veteran of the fight.  I have been on a Medtronic Minimed 512 insulin pump for 8 years now, and not a day goes by that I wish I could be back on injections.  Don't get me wrong, insulin pumps are great for the first year or so, but then they get REALLY expensive, then your medical coverage runs out, and scar tissue starts to build up on your infusion site.  I am really not enjoying pump therapy. 

I almost wish someone could have told me of the pages long list of potential cons while on insulin pump therapy before I started, I would have said, no thanks.

The main problem with the Medtronic Minimed 512 insulin pump is that from time to time, it will just stop giving insulin, without any warning usually for 4 or 5 hours.  When I test my blood sugar, it can be as high as 29mmol/L, which is 522mg/dL.  The other big problem is that I am a student right now, and infusion sets where I live run the cost of about $170 a box.  With the many problems associated with this pump, which is my second replacement one, you can go through an entire box of sets in a single day, due to clogging of the cannula, or muscle tissue plugging the cannula, or many other problems.  sometimes, I get a no delivery warning, and I remove the insfusion set, only to find that, there is no problem with the cannula.  Maybe Medtronic is made of money, but I can't afford $140 a day to live.

At least on injections, my cost of living was less than $10 a day.

Anyways, thats my rant for the day

Robert

I have been on the Minimed 512 almost 6 years.  I haven't had the troubles you mentioned.  My pump broke three weeks ago and Medtronic sent me a loaner until I get a new one.