Restarting a Dexcom sensor

I’ve never tried to restart a sensor before, but think that it would be helpful especially if that particular sensor is in a good spot and seems to read well. Sadly my sensor is set to expire on Christmas and honestly the day I replace it I hardly ever eat (I eat very little carbs, that is) because I don’t want all those wild readings and incorrect insulin delivery. We’re busy on the 25th and the 24th, so my option is to try restarting on the 23rd and hope I can get those extra days past the 25th without hassle or completely put on a new one on the 23rd.

My question is for those who have restarted sensors, how are your readings after? I know a lot of people say it depends and some have great success and others have a sensor fail soon after. I use CIQ and depend on it heavily because I guess things are still off with me when it comes to basal or bolus so if readings are going to be higher that first day and continue for a few days I’d rather know that and replace it than try a restart this time around. I also have seen people have to calibrate every 2 hours on that restart day and others only calibrate once and it works out well. I’d welcome any tips and tricks - I have sources on how to do the process and I have a test strip set aside to disconnect the transmitter but I’m feeling a little weird about trying it out without knowing if I can expect the same first day problem readings or not.

I use Medtronic, so I can’t comment on restarting the sensor on the Dexcom. My experience is that it varies how the extending of the sensor will work. Some are good and some not so good, however, normally I get at least 2 good days, before it might start telling me to calculate way too often or sensor updating excessively for no reason. It might go another week with good service.