Senior Thesis on Type 1 Diabetes research!

Hello!

My name is Rachel Miley and I am a senior undergrad psychology major (+ education minor). I have been diabetic for over 15 years and have both gone to diabetes camp, been a counselor for the same camp, and now I am doing my senior thesis related to type one diabetics and their experiences during K-12 education!

The goal of my research is to provide evidence supporting the need for increased diabetes education in our schools, and to determine if more negative social experiences/interactions in K-12 education related to type one diabetes elicit a self-reported response of overall lower health-related quality of life, and vice versa for more positive experiences/interactions = high overall self-reported health-related quality of life.

I have designed a questionnaire inclusive of scale based questions directly related to type 1 diabetes and it’s management that regard various possible interactions with 4 groups in schools: peers, teachers, administrators, and school medical personnel.

I still need to collect many more responses in order to have a sufficient amount of data to be able to publish my results/findings so I need your help!

If you are Type 1 Diabetic, were diagnosed in or before K-12 education, and are over 18, you qualify!! For anyone who is willing to participate, you’ll be helping me kick some education system booty and bring published evidence to light in hopes that I can continue to research in this area and help to develop stronger diabetes education for school systems all over the country. Too often our students struggle with diabetes management and support in schools, and it’s my passion to help improve our support system for not only diabetic students but awareness for students with chronic conditions overall.

Found below is the link to the questionnaire!

https://wooster.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_bOfcBF2cLaSa3zw