Spouses: what to expect from T1D partner

Hi there,
I’m new to T1D, my husband was diagnosed newly in his early forties when starting medication for another autoimmune condition. I’m struggling to juggle work, home and supporting him. I need some perspective, can any T1s be very real with me about the struggles a newly diagnosed diabetic is experiencing? I want to be supportive and empathetic and right now I feel like I’m drowning, selfish and frustrated. TIA

Hi @clurabelle and welcome to the forum. I was 3 when I was diagnosed and next year will be my 60th with diabetes so I can’t speak from personal memory - hopefully you will get lots of responses from people who can. However one challenge and frustration is the honeymoon period. At the same time you and your doctor are figuring out the anoint of insulin you need (which often varies at different times of the day), your body unexpectedly and unpredictably produces some of its own. That adds an extra challenge to the learning process and there’s no telling how long it will last.
I highly recommend you check out the book Think Like a Pancreas by Gary Scheiner. He has diabetes and works in the field so has a unique personal perspective that is particularly helpful.
I could say more but will defer to forum members who can share first-hand memories.

2 Likes

Thanks for sharing - very much appreciated (also ordering my own copy of the book as I can’t get near my husband’s!)

I’m glad to hear you’re both into the book!
Here’s a link to a question someone posed about support for spouses - I think there was a reference and possibly a link to some resources: Forum for spouses

1 Like

@clurabelle Hello Claire, and Welcome to the JDRF TypeOneNation Community Forum! I hope you receive some helpful tips here based on other’s experiences while living with diabetes.