T1D Athlete on a Budget

Hi there, my name is Theresa (26 y.o.) and I’m a runner. I am also a broke graduate student trying to find cheap alternatives to those fancy protien bars, energy gels, and electrolyte drinks to fuel my runs. I’ve been relying on simple glucose tabs for when I go low in the middle of a run, but the hard, dry and chalk-like feel has prompted me to make this post to find possible alternatives. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

Theresa @taldrich, although I’m far, very far, from being a runner I can relate to your need. I will say that the glucose tabs do not need to be dry and chalky; rather than crunching I nibble at the edges and let the TAB somewhat dissolve in my mouth - I feel as if the slightly dissolved tab may work quicker. But tabs may not be your best solution because of the spike and short duration of the glucose.

What I have used, long before the tab came along was to always have a few hard candies in my pocket - these can be purchased in large bags at the dollar stores. Just make sure that the candies HAVE sugar - many now-a-days have reduced sugar.
What I keep handy in my bike bag and belt case when exercising are granola - protein bars that have 7 grams of quick acting sugar and the balance of the 16 - 19 grams of carb for longer duration of BGL made up of chocolate, nuts, and grains. Walmart Great Value brand has variety pack boxes pf 20 bars available for around $5 - $6.

Best wishes for your continued studies!!!

1 Like

I like Clif Bloks entry chews. They’re a gel and available in a number of flavors. Some have caffeine or added sodium so check the label of those are issues for you. I find them at a sporting goods store. I’ll let you check out the price on your area.