T1D diet for child

A low carb diet has been brought up by T1Ds bio dad. Suggesting she be on a strict low carb diet where she is only needing to receive her lantus and not her fast acting throughout the day. I disagree with this but have read of parents who do it and seem to have “great results” I’m new to this as our daughter was diagnosed in June 2019. I do know her Endo recommended that children not be on a restricted carb diet. Are there any parents that do this diet or have any experience?

hi @Odavis7 Olivia, welcome to the Type One Nation forum.

I suppose you can make anything work with enough effort. It sounds as if your child’s father is suggesting a way to reduce insulin. Insulin is a natural hormone and is necessary for metabolism (for life actually). My 9 year old expends a huge amount of energy, the only way I could replace that energy is with a moderate to high carb load. If he was on a strict low carb diet, it is my humble opinion that he’d never be able to convert enough protein or fat and as such would suffer from low energy and potentially reduction in body muscle mass or possible limitation in the amount of muscle and fat he could build. Since he has many years of growing ahead - I would hesitate to do this.

Insulin is a dangerous drug. limiting the amount injected is a conservative strategy for avoiding possible low blood sugar, but I believe your s=child also probably needs energy AND additional reserve to build body mass.

I limit carbs, but i’m 53 and am not growing except for my belly when I eat too much.

Insulin needs are insulin needs. It;s neither good nor bad to use insulin, it is a dangerous but important growth hormone. It is absolutely required to survive. In other words there are clearly multiple ways to deal with this.

If I could offer advice, I urge you to get a pediatric nutritionist and endocrinologist and, with your child’s specific needs and lifestyle in focus, develop a plan that works best.

cheers good luck.