T1D Food Question

I’m new to Type 1 Diabetes, as my son was diagnosed only a few months ago. He is 15, had Dexcom 6, and does daily injections.

The doctor said it’s normal for insulin to spike after a meal and that it’s more important for the blood sugar to come back down and be within range before his next meal. I thought that was fine, but I hear so many people trying to prevent spikes and saying they are so terrible.

Also, his doctor and nurses told us he can eat anything as long as he counts carbs correctly & doses insulin for it. (Obviously he needs balanced meals with veggies, protein etc. & not just junk food, like any healthy human.) Once again, I hear so many people saying to lower his carbs, even cut out fruits etc.

Luckily, my son is pretty active and loves all foods (including seafood & veggies.) I know not all carbs are created equal & that beans are not the same as scones lol. I’m hoping to get some feedback regarding these areas. Are these issues that develop the longer you have T1D?

Thanks so much :slight_smile:

Hello @Neimeyer and Welcome to Type 1 Nation. You are in the right place for support we have many years of experience with having type 1. If I can give you a piece of advice, it is fantastic you are already asking these questions at only a few months in, but Type 1 is something you cannot learn all at once. This is something that requires trying, observing, modifying and then trying again - and it requires almost endless patience because blood sugar control has so many variables.

all doctors are conservative and don’t want the patient to “go low”. The reason, IMO, is because you can pass out, fall down or get very quickly hurt if you are low. So very few (in my experience, doctors who also have type 1) will even comprehend what you are saying.