Tandem Insulin Pump Glucose Is Staying High

Hi everyone,
I use a Tandem Insulin Pump. My glucose is not going down. Ex. 225, I will give myself insulin and I will check an hour later and it’s the same number or higher. This is scaring me. Last time this happen I changed sight and my levels went down. This time it is not working. Besides the stomach, is there another place I could insert my infusion set. I have been a T1 diabetic since 1995. My pump says it is giving me insulin. I’m using Novolog. Could it be defective insulin, dropped pump too much on the floor or I have damaged something internally. Thank you for your insight. :slightly_smiling_face:

Hi @Clifster . I’ll give some suggestions but please know I am not a medical professional and if you have concerns you should call your doctor if you feel it is serious enough. Overnight you can have their answering service reach out to them. That said:
My endo told me that unless I had miscalculated my carbs or taken in extra ones, I should wait x number of hours before adding more insulin, otherwise I might end up going low due to stacking. I don’t want to say what “x” is because the number may be different for you; but I found that if I did wait it out (and yes, it is like watching paint dry🕛), sure enough they would start to come down - perhaps very slowly but they did start. If you are concerned about a bad site or crimped cannula, but all means change that first.
I find that if I have ketones in my urine no amount of insulin will work until I start washing them out with sugar free fluids, so drinking some water or your favorite sf beverage might help as well.
I’ve used my thigh and bicep (with extra long tubing) as alternatives to the abdomen. You might find your body is more responsive to insulin in the thigh from simply walking around - same for bicep if you lift weights.