Tandem t-Slim pump and showering

Hi Everyone,

I’ve been wearing the Tandem Tslim pump for about 8 months now and was just told that you should suspend insulin delivery on the pump when you disconnect to take a shower. I was only disconnecting and not suspending insulin, any thoughts on preferred method?
Thank you.

I think they want you to suspend if you’re using Tandem CIQ so that the algorithm doesn’t give you an automatic correction or adjust basals while you’re disconnected and then use that history when making future adjustments. For example, if you disconnect without suspending and your pump gives you an automatic correction it’ll count that correction as part of your IOB even though you didn’t get that insulin. Then even if your BG keeps going higher, because of your (inaccurate) high IOB the pump won’t make any more adjustments for a while because it thinks it already did it’s job.
If you suspend delivery then CIQ has to wait until you resume delivery to make adjustments.
Since I’m not currently using CIQ on my tandem pump I don’t suspend my insulin when I’m only going to be disconnected for a short period of time. I give myself a bolus that will cover 30 min of my usual basal before I get in the shower and then disconnect my pump without suspending delivery. Haven’t had any issues.

3 Likes

Also, the other problem I think is that I’ve heard showers can cause insulin to get in your system extremely quickly, which could cause hypoglycemia if you don’t need to kick in immediately? I don’t have a pump but that’s just my limited knowledge from being on a pen
Update: I was wrong! It’s literally only hot showers, baths, etc. sorry

1 Like

You should suspend delivery whenever you disconnect the pump. Otherwise, it will continue dripping insulin out the tube, which is a waste, and it’ll think that insulin has been delivered to you, which will throw off its calculations.