Top 3 frustrations caused by T1D

Im wanting to know what everyones top 3 frustrations that T1D causes,
mine are; 1. Meal planning/carb counting 2. dealing with unexpected spikes 3. Waiting forever for my insulin to kick in.
I would love to hear yours!!

1 Like

@spt2 Welcome Steve to the JDRF TypeOneNation Community Forum! Good to see you here and thanks for sharing your thought - ?frustration.

After living with diabetes during the last seven decades diabetes no longer frustrates me, I just take everything that comes along and swing with it. Agreed, life with diabetes is loaded with surprises - I’m still learning, and I just take these surprises as “learning experiences”.

Ofthe three things you mentioned, #2 has provided me the most “fun” and I’ll adapt yours to mine and say “higher than expected” or “lower than expected”. Like yesterday when the final whistle blew for the Super Bowl" I looked at my pump screen and saw 187 mg/dl - I had expected I’d be 110 - my usual for that time of day. Now comes “detective time”; I had gone back for another scoop of delicious potato salad with plenty of dressing and didn’t remember to add to my carb-count - so at that time I took the necessary insulin and went to bed.

1 Like

@spt2 haha agreed! Especially the waiting for carbs/insulin to kick in. Diabetes takes so much time that I could use for better things… like scrolling on this forum!
My top 3 are…

1. diabetes “stuff” happening at precisely the wrong moment. For example going low when the dentist is cleaning your teeth or ripping a pump site out when you’re already running late for something.

2. high/low BG symptoms that also affect the people around me, like when I get super angry/emotional/sarcastic at simple questions from my parents/siblings just because I’m high. By the time I realize I should just keep my mouth shut something uncalled for has already slipped out.

3. you do everything right and diabetes decides it doesn’t care- it’s more fun to go high!