Work and insulin pumps vs. shots

hey! I was just officially diagnosed with type 1 diabetes the first of the month and at 21 years old I already have a lot of my life planned out... I have two great jobs that I LOVE but now the problem is adding insulin... weather it is through a pump or vials and shots... I have been on Humulin R and lantus for the past couple months (they thought I was only hyperglycemic due to prednisone)  and now they are talking about putting me on a pump. But because of my jobs, I work in an Emergency room and on an ambulance as a paramedic, I am scared that the tubing and things will get caught but at the same time carrying around insulin and syringes isnt the safest thing in the world either. I go back to the diabetes clinic next week and we are going to talk more about it but I was wondering if anyone has any input? I mean at this point Im still in shock that I have the disease and now Im just confused that things are moving so fast... not that Im complaining just overwhelmed I guess

I would consider speaking with Ajax (http://juvenation.org/members/ajax/default.aspx). He also works as an EMT and wears an insulin pump. He was recently diagnosed almost 2 years ago and has been successful on both shots and the pump. He also wears a CGM (continuous glucose monitor). I think he would have a lot of very valuable information to give you and help you decide which may work best for you. 

Plus, he's just a great guy! :o)

Hi Amanda!

I was diagnosed at age 10 (27 now) and have been on a pump since 14.  I would definitely recommend the pump- I've never even considered going back.  I'm guessing your work schedule is more than a little hectic, so a pump would help make your mealtimes more flexible.