Insurance Changes

I was just notified by United Healthcare that for 2024 they will not be covering Lyumjev or any other Lily insulin product (Humalog, Lantus). It took me almost 2 years to figure out Lyumjev with my pump! It wasn’t easy and I finally got things under control. Now, because of insurance contracts with insulin manufacturers, I need to change back to Novolog. I tried hard to keep Novolog 2 years ago and even with appeals, the insurance would not cover it.

Are there ways we can stop this back and forth? These insulins are not interchangable! It takes so much time and effort to stay stable. Companies bid for these contracts and if a bid is unfavorable to the insurance company, patients are the ones who suffer the consequences!! I am a nurse so I see this from many perspectives and it is just wrong.

3 Likes

Ask your Dr to file an appeal on your behalf with your insurance company for the prescription you need. I recall hearing it’s a multi-phase process, but if your Dr keeps responding then by the time it gets to the last step the insurance company will cave (or they risk being sued and all that documentation can be used against them). It’s time consuming but sounds like it would benefit you.

2 Likes

Insurances apparently go with the medications for which they have negotiated the best pricing, with little or no regard for patient needs: a few years ago I was notified that my plan was switching to an insulin that was not even approved for pumps :confounded::flushed::exclamation:! A lot of endos were feverishly going through the process of documenting medical necessity so their pump patients could continue getting our medication.
It may not be common, but some insulins simply do not work for some patients, as is the case for you. Your doctor should know how to compose the documentation, so no need for you to write anything - just let them know you need one and they will take care of the rest.