Insulin Pump OR MDI?

Hi Everyone i wanted to ask other t1ds here if you prefer MDI over pump or pump over MDI. I am starting to feel like the pump may not be best for me some days. I have tried MDIs when i was diagnosed in 2012 and later found out i was type 1 around 2013 and then started on the pump in 2014. It has been going good but sometimes i feel like i may need a change. just would love to hear your thoughts. I am still learning!

1 Like

Hi @KayD . While pumps are considered the best way to manage our diabetes, the fact is many people do just as well and sometimes better on MDI. On the other hand, there are people who simply can’t prevent severe highs or lows on shots, and for them a pump is a must.
It’s really a matter of what works best for you, and there is no reason you can’t try taking a pump break to see how you do on MDI and if you might want to go back. You’ll need to get an rx and updated instructions on basal insulin etc first, and may need to tweak them once you get started, so make sure you allow some time for MDI to “settle in.” If you use a loop such as CIQ, you could also turn it off and see how you do in manual mode.

1 Like

I’ve had T1D for 3 years, MDI for 1 year, pumped for 2 of them. I find that I can get pretty equal control on the pump vs mdi, but the pump means fewer lows and it’s a lot more convenient! Pressing a few buttons vs having prep + inject an insulin pen/syringe. As a high schooler a pump also means not as many trips to the nurses office at school!
That being said I do take a lot of pump breaks every year. Being attached to a device 24/7 can be wearying, tubing can get annoying, and a pump isn’t always compatible or practical with some activities.

2 Likes

@KayD , I started pumping in 1998 or there abouts.

I would have day where my long acting wore off or stacked depending on my irregular activity. I am a retired nursing faculty. My endo suggested a pump & CGM even then for a titrateing control.

1 Like