Dexcom suddenly using up my phone's battery

I’ve been using my Dexcom and Tandem pump for a couple of years now. The phone apps for both have always worked quietly in the background with surprisingly little battery drain. Suddenly, though, in the last couple of weeks, my phone battery is draining really fast and the battery meter says Dexcom is the primary driver. Supposedly just in the last few hours, Dexcom has used up 54% of my phone’s battery charge, and t:connect has used 15%. I don’t know why. They’re not doing anything other than getting the usual updates every few minutes. Usually that’s around 5% at most. I don’t know what changed.

Anyone else have a similar issue?

@WearsHats phone batteries deteriorate over time. Check your battery health. When my phone does that I turn it off and back on again. Dexcom isn’t zero but it should be reasonable. My battery usage since 5AM (13 hours) is 11% background activity.

Lithium batteries don’t lose their ability to hold a charge the way NiCad batteries used to, although the battery meter becomes less accurate over time. Maybe the battery is worn out, though? The phone is almost 4 years old. But the change shouldn’t be this drastic and sudden. And rebooting hasn’t helped. The phone has shut down overnight several times because the battery that used to have 20+ hours of standby time now completely discharges in less than 9. I have to recharge it several times a day.

Paul-Gabriel, I have noticed the same with my Galaxy S-10.
I’ve tried restart, shutdown, and reset - none of those three things changed the behavior. Tomorrow I’m going to uninstall Dexcom and then reinstall after a shutdown and short wait. Later I’ll do the same with Tandem.

I’m using an S10e. Let me know how yours goes. Maybe it’s a software issue with the August 1st system update?

1 Like